mentalI found myself talking negatively about 2013 a few weeks ago. I was speculating on what I would achieve and announced that if I’m not successful at growing my business which is very possible I’m going to…and then I stopped short. I’m going to what?

I have a really bad habit of being “realistic” when it comes to my expectations. I never like to “look forward” to anything too much. It takes away the sting of disappointment in the event that if all through. I pre-judge important events in my life which doesn’t contribute to my success at all. Nor does it make the journey to success very fun.

Learning to control my mind – my thoughts, judgements, habitual ways of thinking has changed how I live my life in the present. Instead of spending the here and now I would fret about tomorrow and the next day and the next day.

It’s not easy. Your thoughts are born from habits created anywhere from two weeks ago or since you were a small child. It takes time and effort to change these habits – especially if they’ve had years to grow deep roots.

Being grateful for the bright spots in your life can be really helpful in retraining your mind. At the same time every day, mentally give thanks for all the things that went well that day or the day before. It could be when you are having your morning coffee, brushing your teeth or driving home from work. The important thing is to do it at the same time every day – this will help train your mind to gravitate towards gratitude on a daily basis.

Write an affirmation that pulls you out of your negative thinking patterns. My current fave is “I am blessed and more blessings are coming my way”. This reminds me that I have a lot to be grateful for and a lot to look forward to.

Training your mind is just like training a muscle. Both get stronger when you train them according to your wishes.

Love,
Danielle

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

I’m Danielle Williams, the  Toronto-based Holistic Lifestyle Coach that heads up Selan Fitness. I recently lost (and kept off) 45 pounds which ignited my passion for fitness and living a life of health and vitality. I help women shape their body and their lives with custom exercise routines, nutrition advice and wellness coaching delivered in your home. I can be reached at info@selanfitness.com