waitingThis is the time of the year when I feel like I see the worst in people. A time when family and community is supposed to be at the core of the season. Instead, the “me first” attitude is rampant. Scarcity mentality is forcing people to treat others like mere obstacles in the way of their goal.

I’ve been that person too. Being the first to lunge onto the bus because it’s cold outside. Shooting threatening glares as I reach for the last package of whatever it was that was so important to me at the time.

I’ve since learned that there isn’t only a few of anything. There isn’t only one chance. When I put my intention out there for something to happen, I open myself up to receiving and sit back and wait. Sure, I take action when I see it. But I don’t step on people who are in my way.

Think about it. Those moments when you’ve been aggressive in defending what you perceive to be your right and privilege or something you’ve attached your happiness to, how happy were you? How satisfied were you when you got it? What was the feeling you had following that one? Dissatisfied? Wanting more? Wanting something else and feeling anxious for the struggle you are anticipating?

Now think about the times when you opened the door for someone and let them through before you. A good feeling probably washed over you (or you didn’t change if you are a normally positive and high energy person) that lasted for a few minutes then faded into your usual way of feeling. Which probably led to another opportunity to experience a good feeling. And another and another.

So what if your gratification is delayed. If you’re still riding high from your last good feeling, you won’t need that seat on the bus so badly.

With love,
Danielle

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

I’m Danielle Williams, the  Toronto-based Holistic Lifestyle Coach that heads up Selan Fitness. I recently lost (and kept off) 45 pounds which ignited my passion for fitness and living a life of health and vitality. I help women shape their body and their lives with custom exercise routines, nutrition advice and wellness coaching delivered in your home. I can be reached at info@selanfitness.com